Postal Stamp Image : PARLIAMENT ANNEX. NEW DELHI 0788 Indian Post
Stamp Issue Date : 28/10/1975
Postage Stamp Dinomination : 2.00
Postal Stamp Serial Number : 0788
Stamp Information : The 21st Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference is being held in New Delhi from October 28 to November 4, 1975. The Commonwealth Parliamentary Association is an Association of Commonwealth Parliamentarians, who irrespective of race, religion or culture, are united by community of interest, respect for the rule of law and the rights and freedoms of the individual citizen, and by pursuit of the positive ideals of Parliamentary democracy. The Association aims to romote understanding and co-operation among Commonwealth Parliamentarians and also to promote the study of and respect for parliamentary institutions throughout the Commonwealth. These objectives are pursued by means of conference, exchange of Parliamentary delegations and seminars. The Association, founded in 1911, has evolved with the Commonwealth. Starting as the Empire Parliamentary Association, it changed its name in 1948 to the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association. It is composed of Branches formed in Legislatures in Comonwealth countries. The Association has now over 90 Branches as its Members in Legislatures of the Commonwealth countries. Every Branch is autonomous and its afairs are controlled by an Executive Committee elected annually by Members and represantatives of all main parties and groups. The Membrs of Legislature in which a Branch is formed are entitled to become Members of that Branch. The Presiding Officers of the Legislative Chambers are normally the Branch Presidents. Prior to India's independence, the Central Legislative Assembly was a Member of the Empire Parliamentary Association. It ceased the function as the India Branch after August 15, 1947. In 1949, India renewed her membership following the change in the name and the constitution of the Association. Besides the India Branch which is the main Branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association at the Centre, there are at present ninteen State Branches in the States viz. Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Orissa, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal. The Commonwealth Parliamentary Association holds its plenary conference ina diferent Commonwealth country each year. This is the second time that this conference is being held in India, the first having been held in 1957. Dr. G.S. Dhillon, M.P., Speaker of Lok Sabha, who is the President of Commonwealth Association is presiding over this conference. India is proud to play the host of this conference. The Posts and Telegraphs Department of the Government of India has great pleasure in commemorating the occasion by issuing a postage stamp on October 28, 1975 to mark the inauguration of the Conference.
Philatelic Stamp Description : The design of the stamp is horizontal and shows the newly constructed Sanadiya Soudha at New Delhi.
Stamp Currency : R
Stamp Language : English
Stamp Overall Size : 4.06 X 2.28 cms
Postal Stamp Print Size : 3.80 X 2.0 cms.
Number of Stamps Per Sheet : 50
Stamp Perforations : 13 x 13
Postal Stamp Shape : Diagonal
Postage Stamp Paper : Unwatermarked adhesive stamp paper
Indian Stamp Process : Photogravure
Number of stamps printed : 30,00,000
Stamp Printed At : India Security Press
Indian Stamp's Color : Raw Sienna
Browse By
    Issue Date
    Print Size
Alphabetical List