Postal Stamp Image : LOK SABHA SECRETARIAT 1355 Indian Post
Stamp Issue Date : 10/01/1989
Postage Stamp Dinomination : 0.60
Postal Stamp Serial Number : 1355
Stamp Information : Lok Sabha Secretariat The foundation of a separate Central Legislature Secretariate, independent of the control of the Government was laid in India on 10 January, 1929. The historic development was the culmination of the renless efforts of Shri Vithalbhai Patel, the first elected Indian Speaker (then called President) of the then Central Legislative Assembly, who zealously guarded, asserted and upheld the independence of the office of Speaker even in those difficult times. The concept of a separate Secretariate for the Indian Legislature, independent of the control of the government, was conceived first in 1926 when the Conference of Presiding Officers of Legislative Bodies in India, presided over by Shri Vithalbhai Patel, adopted a resolution proposing the creation of a separate Secretariat for the Central Legislative Assembly. This was followed, two years later, on 22 September 1928, by a resolution moved in the Central Legislative Assembly by Pandit Motilal Nehru and seconded, among others, by Lala Lajpat Rai, seeking the constitution of a separate Assembly Department. Te principal terms of the Resolution were: (i) A separater Assembly Department should be constituted not later than 1 December, 1928; (ii) The Assembly Department should be included in the portfolio of the Governor-General and the principal officers of the Department should be appointed by him in consultation with the Presiding Officers; (iii) The other members of the establishment should be appointed by the Presiding Officer in consultation with the Secretary; and (iv) Te question of expenditure should be dealt with in the ordinary manner, but in case of difference of opinion between the Presiding Officer and the Government of India, there should be a refrence to the Governor-General, whose decision was to be final. This resolution, adopted unanimously, in fact became "the source of creation and authority of the Assembly Department." As a result, a separate Department known as the "Legislative Asembly Department" came into being on 10 January 1929, in the portfolio of the Governor-general with the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly as its defacto head. With the coming force of the Constitution of India on 26 January 1950, the name of the Department was changed to "Parliament Secretariat". In 1954, the name of the Secretariate was changed from "Parliament Secretariate" to "Lok Sabha Secretariate." The stamp is being issued to commemorate the Diamond Jubilee of the Lok Sabha Secretariate, which continues to maintain a tradition of impartiality, objectivity, ddication and promptitude handed down to it over the decades as also a distinct work culture of its own to meet the special requirements of the Parliament and its Members.
Philatelic Stamp Description : The stamp is designed by India Security Press, Nashik Road, the first day cover by Samaresh Chatterjee and the cancelation by Alka Sharma. The Lok Sabha Secretariat is depicted on the stamp amd Parliamment House, New Delhi on the first day cover. Text , Courtesy: Lok Sabha Secretariate.
Stamp Currency : P
Stamp Language : English
Stamp Overall Size : 3.91 X 2.90 cms
Postal Stamp Print Size : 3.55 X 2.5 cms.
Number of Stamps Per Sheet : 35
Stamp Perforations : 13 x 13
Postal Stamp Shape : Horizontal
Postage Stamp Paper : Unwatermarked adhesive Gravure coated stamp paper
Indian Stamp Process : Photogravure
Number of stamps printed : 15,00,000
Stamp Printed At : India Security Press
Indian Stamp's Color : Brown and Green
Browse By
    Issue Date
    Print Size
Alphabetical List